netflix post play

Netflix finally lets users disable Post-Play feature

In October 2013, Netflix pledged to allow streaming users the ability to turn off Post-Play—the feature that auto-advances you to the next TV show episode after you finish one—by the end of year. That promise got pushed to January, and on Friday Netflix delivered.

To access the setting, sign into Netflix and choose Your Account from the drop-down menu in the upper-right, where you see your currently selected profile. Once in your account, click Playback settings and look in the Preferences section near the bottom of the window that appears. You’ll see an item labeled Play next episode automatically with a selected checkbox to the left of it. Uncheck it, click Save, and you’re done. Instead of moving you on to the next episode, it now shows you what's next and lets you decide if you want to watch it.

netflix up next

Fine, you decide if you want to watch the next episode.

Note that these playback settings are per profile. So, for example, if you have one profile set up for you and another for the kids, you can turn the feature off for just the tykes (as I just did) and leave the binge watching to the grown-ups.

Subscribe to the Now Playing Newsletter

Comments