Kill your social media accounts

More Stories in this Series

How to delete your Instagram account

Retro image filters and square photos aren’t for everyone, and Instagram’s ties to Facebook might give the privacy-conscious pause, so you have plenty of reasons to want to leave Instagram. Here’s how to do just that.

To delete your Instagram account, visit Instagram.com and sign in to your account. Next, select your account name in the upper-right corner, and then select Edit Profile. 

On the resulting page, scroll down, and look for and click the I’d like to delete my account link. Instagram will ask why you want to delete your account—though not before referring you to a page to soothe your concerns about its privacy-policy changes.

Select your reason for leaving Instagram, enter your password where prompted, and then click the Permanently deactivate my account button.

Remember that Instagram doesn’t have an account-deactivation feature as Facebook does, where you can revive your account later (which admittedly seems a little wonky considering that Facebook owns Instagram), or a reactivation grace period as Twitter has. Once you click that red button, your account—and everything you’ve published to it—will be permanently removed, and you won’t be able to recover it or reuse your old account name. So before you touch that button, make damn sure that you never want to see a sepia-filtered square photo of a really good latte again.

Subscribe to the Tablet Tips & Trends Newsletter

Comments