Google+ profiles now easier to edit, new features added

Even if you're not an active Google+ user, now's a good time to check over your profile and clean it up.

That's because Google just made it a bit easier to edit all your personal details, with a new card-like format for profile information under the “About” tab on your Google+ profile. Each of these cards now has its own prominently-displayed Edit button, so you can easily control who sees what for categories like Work, People, and Places.

The new About tab in Google +

When you click Edit, a window pops up that lets you add or change information. On the right side of this window, a drop-down menu lets you select which of your Google+ circles can see these personal details.

As always, when you're finished editing you can see how your profile looks to the public or to a particular user.

Just use the “View profile as” option on the right side the screen, directly under your cover photo.

Keep in mind that you won't see the Edit buttons under each section unless you're viewing the profile as “Yourself.”

Reviews tab added

Google has added some other new features to Google+ profiles as well. Profiles now include a “Reviews” tab, which gathers all your reviews of local restaurants and businesses in one place.

A Reviews tab has been added

The privacy settings for local reviews are more complicated.

To hide all reviews from your profile, you must visit theGoogle+ settings page, scroll down to the “Profile” section and uncheck “Reviews” under the “Show these profile tabs to visitors” area.

Finally, Google has increased the maximum size for profile photos, up to a resolution of 2120 pixels by 1192 pixels, and each photo can be expanded to display in a 16:9 aspect ratio.

Google + now allows larger profile pictures.

Google says it's rolling out these new features gradually, though I've already spotted the changes on my own profile.

The new profile format does seem a lot easier to look at and to edit than the previous format, which seemed more like a giant wall of text with a bit “Edit Profile” button on top.

It's worth taking a few minutes to look through and make sure all your personal details are as locked down as you'd like.

Subscribe to the Best of TechHive Newsletter

Comments