Here's how to watch Friday's SpaceX Falcon 9 rocket launch

SpaceX
A Falcon 9 rocket lifts off from Cape Canaveral.

On Friday morning at approximately 10:10am Eastern Time (7:10am Pacific), SpaceX will launch a Falcon 9 rocket and kick off a mission to deliver supplies to the International Space Station. This rocket, which will blast off from Cape Canaveral, represents the second of 12 resupply missions that SpaceX will carry out on NASA's behalf. And you can watch the launch as it happens.

NASA TV

NASA will present a live video stream of the launch, with coverage starting at 8:30am ET (5:30am PT). Head on over to the NASA TV page to watch the video feed. You can also get updates on the mission from the mission's blog.

SpaceX webcast 

SpaceX will also offer live coverage of the launch at spacex.com/webcast starting at 9:30am ET (6:30am PT). This livestream will feature play-by-play straight from commentators stationed at SpaceX headquarters. The commentary will cover various aspects of the launch, ranging from details on the mission itself to information on the Falcon 9 rocket, along with other tidbits of interest. You can also follow SpaceX on Twitter if you prefer to get updates that way.

Launch forecast

As of Wednesday, NASA pegged the chances of the launch going ahead as scheduled at 90 percent. On Thursday, NASA put its chances at 80 percent, with "a slight chance of wind or cloud violations" being the one concern, weather-wise, so there's a very good chance of the launch proceeding as scheduled. So tune in and get your space geek on!

Get more GeekTech: Twitter - Facebook - RSS | Tip us off

Subscribe to the Best of TechHive Newsletter

Comments